I will be first to admit I haven’t really read that many comics in the past decade. Hell I have only been alive for 19 years and into comics only 16% percent of that time span. This might not be the best pick, but at this moment in time I can happily say my favorite comic series of the last ten years was:

Avengers: The Initiative (The Dan Slott run)

This is the series that introduced me to the genius of Dan Slott (read Mighty Avengers NOW!) and the wonders of Hank Pym. Sure Pym may have been revealed to be a Skrull but that Skrull was programed into being like Pym so technically its the same personality, but I digress. The series (namely the first 12 issues plus the annual) accomplished its goal in capturing me as a reader and had me caring for the characters. Especially for the romance of Hardball and Komodo, even if it was different from the norm. Somehow Slott made the characters believable, and I enjoyed every panel.  Now his run does get bogged down in the last 7 issues with the Secret Invasion storyline, and it ends with a very abrupt character shift for 3D man that left a bad taste in my mouth. I won’t spoil it for you if you haven’t read it, but I don’t think it was a wise choice. In the end I enjoyed the Dan Slott run, and I highly recommend picking up Volumes 1 and 2 of the trades if you are interested in the series. They collect the first 13 issues plus the annual, and I can about guarantee you will enjoy it.

Oh yeah and one more thing, this series introduced me to the most kick-ass character in all of comics:  Butterball!

You will respect this glorious Olympian one day. I swear it.

Thanks for reading and have a safe and happy New Year’s.

Quote of the day-

“The right word may be effective, but no word was ever as effective as a rightly timed pause.”
-Mark Twain

If you are wondering what are the names of Avengers: The Initiative Vol 1 and 2 are here you go: Volume 1: Basic training; Volume 2: Killed In Action.

Images belong to Marvel and were found on Comicvine.com

