Sorry for the delay. Went through several drafts and a rough week of classes before I came to this version. Every version before this I wrote felt forced. This is the one that flowed naturally. I will be redoing some things to the site in the coming days so be ready for some great things to come. Till then here is In Defense of Cyclops, enjoy.

The defendant:

Scott Summers aka Cyclops of the X-men

Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, I am here today to defend my client, Scott Summers (aka Cyclops), on charges that he is a horrible father and a womanizer. The prosecution also claims these traits, coupled with attitude, are what makes my client a lame, and overall, boring character. The Defense is ready to answer all charges against Mr. Summers.

Evidence #1: Mr. Summers is a horrible father

Exhibit A: Cable

Exhibit A: Cable

The prosecution’s claims that my client is a deadbeat dad is based on Exhibit A, one Mr. Nathaniel Summers aka Cable. The prosecution is only telling you one side of the story. The truth behind Cable is that he was the son of Madelyn Pryor and my client. When he was very young Cable was infected with the Tech-organic virus. If it pleases the court, the defense would like to present what we will call Exhibit B. Warning:  it may be graphic.

Exhibit B: Cable with the TO virus.

Exhibit B: Cable with the TO virus.

As you can clearly see, Exhibit B shows my client’s son with the Techno-Organic virus. This virus would have resulted in the death of my client’s only son. Luckily, a woman from the future arrived shortly after and offered to take young Cable to the future. In desperation my client agreed to hand over his only child as it looked to be the only way to save him from certain death. These are not the actions of a deadbeat father, but that of a desperate loving dad! The prosecution stated that this is the last time my client saw his son until Cable returned a few years later, fully aged. The defense has evidence contrary to this claim. If it pleases the court, the defense presents Exhibit C.

Exhibit C: Slym and Redd Dayspring

Exhibit C: Slym and Redd Dayspring

My client and his then wife, Jean Grey, spent their honeymoon not away on vacation, but instead in the future helping to raise Cable for twelve years of his life. This is truly not a deadbeat dad is it? Mr. Summers took time out of his precious honeymoon and raised his son. This was a noble act of my client and one a true deadbeat would not perform.

Now the prosecution will claim that my client did leave his son long before the Techno-Organic virus infection. My client does plead guilty to this action, but he only did so because of the emotional duress that was suddenly brought about when he heard that his love, Jean Grey, was suddenly found alive. The defense asks, would you not drop everything if you learned a loved one was suddenly back from the dead? My client admits that he is guilty of abandoning his wife and child, but you have to agree that his actions are realistic.

Evidence #2: Mr. Summers is a womanizer

Exhibit D: Scott, Emma, and Jean

Exhibit D: Scott, Emma, and Jean

This is the incident the prosecution is basing their whole womanizing case on, and the defense is prepared to fully explain the incident. I know to the casual onlooker this scene looks just like my client was caught having an affair with Ms. Frost. The truth is that this was not the case. This was within my client’s mind where Ms. Frost was helping him deal with his impotence issues with Mrs. Summers. My client was experiencing these issues after he was possessed by Apocalypse and was “killed”. Once he returned he had difficulty expressing his love with his then wife, Mrs. Summers. Ms. Frost lent her special mental talents to my client and helped unblock his mind. My client and Ms. Frost never had sexual relations till after Mrs. Summers was killed by the mutant terrorist, Magneto (who may or may not have been Xorn). Mrs. Summers even came back briefly to condone the relationship, and it wasn’t till then that my client actually entered a real relationship with Ms. Frost. That makes the claims against my client frivolous and slander!

Evidence #3: Cyclops is a jerk

Exhibit E: Cyclops is a jerk

Exhibit E: Cyclops is a jerk

Now the Prosecution claims that my client’s “Bad” parenting and “Womanizing Ways” are just a part of his larger problem, his attitude. It is no secret my client is a jerk. He has to be one, though. My client was trained underneath Professor Charles Xavier, who according to witnesses, “Sends children to their death in hopes of achieving mutant equality.” A teacher at the Xavier Institute for Gifted Youngsters, Kitty Pryde, has even said that he is a jerk. Here is evidence confirming the quote.

Exhibit F: Kitty Pryde on Xavier

Exhibit F: Kitty Pryde on Xavier

With Xavier being the father that orphaned Scott Summers never had, it is only natural for him to follow in his footsteps, so to speak. Also, my client is currently the de facto leader of all surviving mutants. That is far more than enough stress to cause anyone to act a little “jerkish”. The fact that my client is a jerk is what makes him who he is. To change that would change everything my client  is. Truth is, my client is a jerk out of necessity. It is easier for a group to follow someone they hate but respect than someone they like but have no respect for. His attitude commands respect, and he knows this. He may have to push everyone’s buttons, but he does so because he cares.

This attitude towards everything does not make my client boring, but instead a complex person. He has been abandoned by his real father, witnessed the woman he loves die several times (only to come back), forced into being experimented on, and had to lead the mutant race. If anything, he sounds more like an interesting person instead of this boring boyscout that the prosecution makes him out to be.

The Defense Rests!

