Turns out in the early 90’s Stan Lee hosted a show that featured various artists talking about their craft and usually doing a sketch or something. Several of these episodes were made, and they were presented as direct to video. Though I knew of its existence, I never really watched an episode of this series until one my friends on the spoony experiment forums sent me a link to an episode that featured both Todd McFarlane and Rob Liefeld.

Now Liefeld did his own episode, as well as McFarlane, and I will get to those in the future, but today I am going to present to you  The Comic Book Greats Featuring Stan Lee, Rob Liefeld and Todd McFarlane creating a character named Overkill.

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4 (credits)

I have to admit it is impressive they created a character in twenty minutes based solely on a name. Other than that the art is definitely early Liefeldian. Big Shoulder pads (which Stan Lee quips about) and the disproportionate body. The arms look like solid tree trunks, and the legs make no sense. We also get McFarlane’s love of chains, rivets, and bullet holes.

Overkill just looks plain silly. I do love Stan’s questioning over how is he going to move, how does he suit up, etc. McFarlane’s only excuse is that it’s a comic you have to “suspend…reality”. In the end, it was an intriguing insight into the minds of Liefeld and McFarlane during the early 90’s and how they believe kids love all of the stuff they did. The truth is they probably did.

Oh well, I hope you enjoyed this look into the past. There will be more of these to come in the later weeks with such greats as Claremont and Romita Jr. Thanks for watching and reading. Thanks also goes to Pike at TSE forums for the suggestions.

